Diagnostic Criteria for Dementia

Type of dementia Diagnostic criteria
Alzheimer’s disease
  • Preferred criteria: NINCDS/ADRDA
  • Alternatives include ICD-10 and DSM-IV
Vascular dementia
  • Preferred criteria: NINDS-AIREN
  • Alternatives include ICD-10 and DSM-IV
Dementia with Lewy bodies
  • International Consensus criteria for dementia with Lewy bodies
Frontotemporal dementia
  • Lund-Manchester criteria
  • NINDS criteria for frontotemporal dementia
  • DSM-IV: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fourth edition
  • ICD-10: International Classification of Diseases, 10th revision
  • NINCDS/ADRDA: National Institute of Neurological and Communicative Diseases and Stroke/Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Association
  • NINDS–AIREN: Neuroepidemiology Branch of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke–Association Internationale pour la Recherche et l’Enseignement en Neurosciences

Definite diagnoses require histopathology acquired from autopsy or biopsy.

Probable and possible diagnoses can be made using the various clinical criteria.

Many patients will have a mixed dementia with features suggestive of several subtypes. They should be treated according to the most predominant type.

Post a comment

Leave a Comment