Main Types of Dementia

There are currently thought to be four main types of dementia.

The categories have developed over time as different clinical spectra have been linked with distinct pathological processes. They are:

  • Alzheimer’s disease (AD)
  • Vascular dementia (VD)
  • Dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB)
  • Frontotemporal dementia (FTD)

Several working groups have developed criteria for the four subtypes, which are recognised by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE).

Post a comment

Leave a Comment