The Royal College of Emergency Medicine Training

The Royal College of Emergency Medicine (RCEM) has endorsed the inclusion of EMUS in specialist training, and it now appears in the curriculum [3]. Taking the approach indicated by the RCR, there are three levels of training:

  • Core skills is recommended for all trainees and is the most basic level
  • Level 2 describes special interest use
  • Level 3 describes advanced sub-specialty practice

Further, more detailed training is required to achieve the more advanced levels.

Courses for core skills training are approved by the RCEM and published on the College web site.

Learning bite

Core skills training is a process that should lead to competence in the three key areas of:

  • FAST
  • AAA assessment
  • Vascular access, both central and peripheral
  • Echo in life support
Post a comment

Leave a Comment